You are here

The 2017 Man Booker Prize is now open for entries

The 2017 Man Booker Prize is now open for entries

Publishers are invited to submit entries for the Man Booker Prize for Fiction 2017.

The Man Booker Prize is awarded annually by the Booker Prize Foundation to the author of the best (in the opinion of the judges) eligible novel. This year’s judging panel is chaired by Baroness Lola Young and includes: literary critic, Lila Azam Zanganeh; the Man Booker Prize shortlisted novelist, Sarah Hall; the artist, Tom Phillips CBE RA; and the travel writer, Colin Thubron CBE.

Completed entry forms must be received by Four Colman Getty by Friday 10 March 2017, with eight copies of each novel submitted by Friday 16 June 2017. The number of novels an eligible publisher can submit will depend on that publisher’s inclusion in longlists from 2012 to 2016. The Rules & Entry Form can be accessed here:

The judges are responsible for compiling a longlist of 12 or 13 books – 'The Man Booker Dozen', which will be revealed in July. The shortlist of six books will be announced in September, and from this the winner will be selected and awarded their prize in October.

Each shortlisted author receives £2,500 and a designer bound copy of his or her novel. The winning author receives a further £50,000. In 2016, the winner was Paul Beatty for his novel The Sellout (Oneworld Publications).