Fiction at its finest

The Winner

Lydia Davis

More »

The Man Booker International Prize recognises one writer for his or her achievement in fiction. Worth £60,000, the prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language. The winner is chosen solely at the discretion of the judging panel and there are no submissions from publishers.

The Man Booker International Prize is significantly different from the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction. In seeking out literary excellence, the judges consider a writer's body of work rather than a single novel.

The List of Finalists



Chair's Speech

  • Speaking at the the awards ceremony for the Man Booker International Prize 2011, Rick Gekoski, one of the world's leading bookmen, pays tribute to Philip Roth.

    More »