You are here

The Man Booker International Prize

The Man Booker International Prize recognises one writer for his or her achievement in fiction. Worth £60,000, the prize is awarded every two years to a living author who has published fiction either originally in English or whose work is generally available in translation in the English language. The winner is chosen solely at the discretion of the judging panel and there are no submissions from publishers.

The Man Booker International Prize is significantly different from the annual Man Booker Prize for Fiction. In seeking out literary excellence, the judges consider a writer's body of work rather than a single novel.

Philip Roth, Man Booker...

We were sorry to learn that Philip Roth, who won the Man Booker International Prize in its

Flights wins the Man Booker...

Flights by Olga Tokarczuk, translated by Jennifer Croft and published by Fitzcarraldo Editions,

The Man Booker...

The Man Booker International Prize today, Thursday 12 April, reveals the shortlist of six books

The Man Booker International Prize 2018 shortlist

Prize Brand: 
The Man Booker International Prize
Prize Year: 

The Stolen Bicycle interview

Wu Ming-Yi discusses the summer he spent touring Taiwan on a bicycle  while promoting the book,

The Impostor interview

Javier Cercas talks about The Impostor, a book he describes as a “reflection on lies (and,

Go, Went, Gone interview

­Jenny Erpenbeck talks about her novel Go, Went, Gone, which she describes as “a book about

The White Book interview

Han Kang describes how her experience of living in Warsaw in 2014 led her to write The White