Fiction at its finest

The Winner

J G Farrell

More »

The Lost Man Booker Prize was a one-off prize to honour the books that missed out on the opportunity to win the Booker Prize in 1970. In 1971, just two years after it began, the Booker Prize ceased to be awarded retrospectively and became a prize for the best novel of the year of publication. At the same time the award moved from April to November, resulting in a wealth of fiction published for much of 1970 not being considered for the prize.

In 2008, 40 years on, a panel of three judges – all of whom were born in or around 1970 – was appointed to select a shortlist of six novels from that year. They were poet and novelist Tobias Hill, television newsreader, Katie Derham and the journalist and critic, Rachel Cooke.

The winner of the Lost Man Booker Prize was J G Farrell with Troubles. His family accepted a designer-bound copy of the novel on his behalf.