You are here

The Man Booker International Prize 2015

The Man Booker International Prize 2015

Winning Author

László Krasznahorkai

László Krasznahorkai was born in 1954. He gained considerable recognition in 1985 when he published Satantango which he later adapted for the cinema in collaboration with the filmmaker Bela Tarr. Tarr also adapted Krasznahorkai’s novel The Melancholy of Resistance. In 1993, he received the German Bestenliste Prize for the best literary work of the year for The Melancholy of Resistance. At the time of winning, he had been honoured with numerous literary prizes, including the German Bestenliste Prize and the highest award of the Hungarian State, the Kossuth Prize. 

His works in translation, by George Szirtes, have won the US Best Translated Book Award and been longlisted for the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize.

László Krasznahorkai

The 2015 Finalists

César Aira

Ibrahim al-Koni

Hoda Barakat

Maryse Condé

Mia Couto

Amitav Ghosh

Fanny Howe

Alain Mabanckou

Marlene Van Niekerk

The 2015 Judges

Marina Warner (Chair) 

Nadeem Aslam

Elleke Boehmer

Edwin Frank

Wen-chin Ouyang