You are here

The Man Booker International Prize 2011

The Man Booker International Prize 2011

The Winner

Philip Roth

Philip Roth was born in New Jersey in 1933. He is probably best known for his 1959 collection Goodbye, Columbus, his 1969 novel Portnoy’s Complaint, and for his late-’90s trilogy comprising the Pulitzer Prize-winning American Pastoral (1997), I Married a Communist (1998), and The Human Stain (2000).

At the time of winning, Roth’s works of fiction had won a number of awards including the National Book Award, the National Book Critics Circle Awards, the Pen/Faulkner Award, the Pen/Nabokov Award, PEN/Saul Bellow Award and a Pulitzer Prize for Fiction.

Philip Roth

The 2011 Finalists

Wang Anyi

Juan Goytisolo

James Kelman

John le Carré

Amin Maalouf

David Malouf

Dacia Maraini

Rohinton Mistry

Philip Pullman

Marilynne Robinson

Su Tong

Anne Tyler

The 2011 Judges

Dr Rick Gekoski (Chair)

Carmen Callil

Justin Cartwright