You are here

The Man Booker International Prize 2009

The Man Booker International Prize 2009

Winning Author

Alice Munro

Alice Munro was born in Ontario in 1931. Her first collection of stories, Dance of the Happy Shades, was published in 1968 and won the Governor General’s Award, Canada’s highest literary prize. Her other work includes Lives of Girls and Women, which won the Canadian Booksellers Association International Book Year Award; The Beggar Maid, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize; Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, MarriageVintage Munro; and Runaway

The 2009 Finalists

Peter Carey

Evan S Connell

Mahasweta Devi

E L Doctorow

James Kelman

Arnošt Lustig

Sir V S Naipaul

Joyce Carol Oates

Antonio Tabucchi

Ngugi Wa Thiong’o

Dubravka Ugresic

Ludmila Ulitskaya

Mario Vargas Llosa

The 2009 Judges

Jane Smiley (Chair)

Amit Chaudhuri

Andrey Kurkov