You are here

The Man Booker International Prize 2007

The Man Booker International Prize 2007

Winning Author

Chinua Achebe

Chinua Achebe was born in Nigeria in 1930. His first work, Things Fall Apart was hugely influential and has been translated into over forty languages. Achebe’s subsequent novels include No Longer at EaseArrow of GodA Man of the People, and Anthills of the Savannah which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize. His other works include the volumes of poetry Beware, Soul Brother and Christmas in Biafra, the short-story collection Girls at War, and the children’s book How the Leopard Got His Claws

In 1971 Achebe helped to found the influential literary magazine Okike, which he edited in the United States from 1972, having accepted the post of Professor of English at the University of Massachusetts at Amherst at the time. His essay collections include Morning Yet on Creation Day, Hopes and Impediments, and The Trouble with Nigeria. At the time of winning Chinua Achebe had received more than twenty honorary doctorates and was a member of the American Academy and Institute of Arts and Letters.

The 2007 Finalists

Margaret Atwood

John Banville

Peter Carey

Don DeLillo

Carlos Fuentes

Doris Lessing

Ian McEwan

Harry Mulisch

Alice Munro

Michael Ondaatje

Amos Oz

Philip Roth

Salman Rushdie

Michel Tournier

The 2007 Judges

Elaine Showalter (Chair)

Nadine Gordimer

Colm Tóibín