You are here

The Man Booker International Prize 2005

The Man Booker International Prize 2005

Winning Author

Ismail Kadare

Ismail Kadare was born in 1936 in the Albanian mountain town of Girokaster near the Greek border. At the time of winning, he was Albania’s best-known poet and novelist. He established an uneasy modus vivendi with the Communist authorities until their attempts to turn his reputation to their advantage drove him in October 1990 to seek asylum in France. His novels include The General of the Dead Army (1963), The Palace of Dreams (1981), Albanian Spring (1991), and The File on H (1990).

The 2005 Finalists

Margaret Atwood

Günter Grass

Milan Kundera

Stanislaw Lem

Doris Lessing

Naguib Mahfouz

Gabriel García Márquez

Tomás Eloy Martinez

Ian McEwan

Kenzaburo Oe

Cynthia Ozick

Philip Roth

Muriel Spark

Antonio Tabucchi

John Updike

A B Yehoshua

The 2005 Judges

John Carey (Chair)

Alberto Manguel

Azar Nafisi