You are here

The Man Booker Prize for Fiction Backlist

The Man Booker Prize 2015

The 2015 Winner

A Brief History of Seven Killings

On 3 December 1976, just weeks before the general election and two days before Bob Marley was to play the Smile Jamaica concert to ease political tensions, seven men from West Kingston stormed his house with machine guns. Marley survived and went on to perform at the free concert. But the next day he left the country and didn’t return for two years.

Inspired by this near-mythic event, A Brief History of Seven Killings takes the form of an imagined oral biography, told by ghosts, witnesses, killers, members of parliament, drug dealers, conmen, beauty queens, FBI and CIA agents, reporters, journalists, and even Keith Richards' drug dealer. The story traverses strange landscapes and shady characters, as motivations are examined – and questions asked.

The 2015 Winning Author

Marlon James

Marlon James was born in Kingston, Jamaica in 1970.

James’ first novel, John Crow’s Devil, was a finalist for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize and the Commonwealth Writers Prize, and was a New York Times Editor’s Choice. His second novel, The Book of Night Women, won the 2010 Dayton Literary Peace Prize and was a finalist for the 2010 National Book Critics Circle Award.

James’ writing has appeared in Esquire, Granta, Publisher’s Weekly and The Caribbean Review of Books.

A Brief History of Seven Killings won the 2015 Man Booker Prize for Fiction.

Marlon James

The 2015 Shortlist

The 2015 Longlist

The 2015 Judges

Michael Wood (Chair)

Ellah Wakatama Allfrey

John Burnside

Sam Leith

Frances Osborne