You are here


As part of its work with the National Literacy Trust’s Books Unlocked programme, the Booker Prize Foundation has supported the development of one of seven short films which feature as part of a new free app, called Straightline, designed to be watched by former prisoners during their first days after release from prison.

Click here to find out more about the National Literacy Trust and Books Unlocked.

Read more about National Prison Radio and their app Straightline.

The Man Booker Prize 2016 winner ceremony where Paul Beatty, author of The Sellout, became the first American author to win the prize in its 48-year history.

We celebrated the Man Booker Prize 2016 shortlist at the Serpentine Pavilion. Hear speeches on the shortlist from Literary Director of the Booker Prize Foundation Gaby Wood and Chair of the judges Amanda Foreman.

Actor Brad Pitt reads from A Brief History of Seven Killings after an interview with our Man Booker Prize 2015 winning author Marlon James!

Watch highlights from the Man Booker International Prize 2016 winner ceremony at the Victoria & Albert museum where Han Kang and Deborah Smith were crowned the winners with The Vegetarian

Watch highlights from the Man Booker Prize 2015 winner ceremony where Marlon James won with A Brief History of Seven Killings. He was the first Jamaican author to win the prize in its 47-year history.

Watch the ‘Man Booker Vloggers’ chat about all things Man Booker from longlist stage onwards, discussing the books and authors in contention for the 2015 prize.

Highlights from the Man Booker International Prize 2015 winner ceremony at the V&A where László Krasznahorkai was crowned the winner.

Highlights from the winner ceremony at the Guildhall where Richard Flanagan was awarded the Man Booker Prize 2014.  2014 was the first year in which the prize opened to any author writing in English, so long as they had been written originally written in English and published in the UK. Speculation that the prize would be dominated by American authors proved premature when Tasmanian- born Richard Flanagan won the day, the third Tasmanian to win in the prize’s 46-year history.

In 2013, acclaimed travel writer Robert MacFarlane chaired the judging panel that selected Eleanor Catton as the youngest ever winner of the Man Booker Prize. On Thursday 03 April, MacFarlane and Catton were reunited on stage in a collaboration between Man Booker, Australia & New Zealand Festival of Literature & Arts, Royal Society of Literature and Intelligent Life Magazine.

Highlights from the winner ceremony at the Guildhall where Eleanor Catton was awarded the Man Booker Prize 2013.  At 28, was the youngest ever to win and only the second winner from New Zealand, where she was brought up, although born in Canada. At 832 pages, The Luminaries is the longest work to win the prize. The chair of the judges, Robert Macfarlane commented ‘It’s a dazzling work. It’s a luminous work. It is vast without being sprawling.’