You are here

What’s Bred in the Bone

What’s Bred in the Bone

Two angels tell the story of the life of Francis Cornish, an art collector and philanthropist, explaining how he moved from art forger to respectable and admired citizen.


About the Author

Robertson Davies

Robertson Davies was born in 1913 in Thamesville, Ontario.  He was educated at Balliol College, Oxford and whilst there he became interested in theatre.  From 1938 until 1940 he was a teacher at the Old Vic and he subsequently wrote a number of plays.  He returned to Canada in 1940 where he worked as a journalist, literary editor and publisher until 1962 when he was appointed Professor of English at the University of Toronto.  He retired in 1981, but remained Master Emeritus and Professor Emeritus. He held honorary doctorates from twenty-six universities in the UK, the USA and Canada.  The Salterton Trilogy (Tempest-Tost, Leaven of Malice, winner of the Leacock Award for Humour, and A Mixture of Frailties); The Deptford Trilogy (Fifth Business, The Manticore and World of Wonders); The Cornish Trilogy (The Rebel Angels, What’s Bred in the Bone, shortlisted for the 1986 Booker Prize, and The Lyre of Orpheus).  He died in 1995.