You are here

Under the Frog

Under the Frog

Under the Frog follows the adventures of two young Hungarian basketball players through the turbulent years between the end of World War II and the anti-Soviet uprising of 1956. In this spirited indictment of totalitarianism, the two improbable heroes, Pataki and Gyuri, travel the length and breadth of Hungary in a epic quest for food, lodging, and female companionship.

About the Author

Tibor Fischer

Tibor Fischer was born in 1959 in Stockport to Hungarian parents. He grew up in South London before going to Cambridge University to study Latin and French. He has worked as a journalist and was selected as one of the ‘20 Best of Young British Novelists’ by Granta in 1993.

His first novel Under the Frog won the Betty Trask Award in 1992, and was the first debut novel to be shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1993. He returned to be a judge of the Man Booker Prize in 2004.

He is the author of several other works, novels such as The Thought Gang, The Collector Collector, Voyage to the End of the Room and a collection of short stories Don’t Read This Book If You’re Stupid. 

He lives in South London.

Tibor Fischer image