You are here

The Restraint of Beasts

The Restraint of Beasts

When sloth and alcohol lead to a horribly botched job, two fence builders named Tam and Richie flee their native Scotland to England, where all hell quickly breaks loose.

About the Author

Magnus Mills

Magnus Mills was born in Birmingham in 1954.  Between 1979 and 1986 he built high-tensile fences for a living, an experience which he drew upon for his first novel, The Restraint of Beasts (1998), which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize for fiction and the Whitbread First Novel Award and won the McKitterick Prize in 1999. His other novels include All Quiet on the Orient Express (1999); Three to See the King (2001); The Scheme for Full Employment (2003), and Explorers of the New Century (2005).

Mills has also worked as a bus driver and a columnist for The Independent.  He has written five novels and two collections of short stories.