You are here

The Moor’s Last Sigh

The Moor’s Last Sigh

What do we do when the world’s walls - its family structures, its value-systems, its political forms - crumble? The central character of this novel, ‘Moor’ Zogoiby, only son of a wealthy, artistic-bohemian Bombay family, finds himself in such a moment of crisis. His mother, a famous painter and an emotional despot, worships beauty, but Moor is ugly, he has a deformed hand. Moor falls in love, with a married woman; when their secret is revealed, both are expelled; a suicide pact is proposed, but only the woman dies. Moor chooses to accept his fate, plunges into a life of depravity in Bombay, then becomes embroiled in a major financial scandal. The novel ends in Spain, in the studio of a painter who was a lover of Moor’s mother: in a violent climax Moor has, once more, to decide whether to save the life of his lover by sacrificing his own.


About the Author

Salman Rushdie

Sir Salman Rushdie was born in Bombay in June 1947.

His second novel, the acclaimed Midnight’s Children, was published in 1981. It won the Booker Prize for Fiction, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction, an Arts Council Writers’ Award and the English-Speaking Union Award. In 1993 it was judged to be the ‘Booker of Bookers’, the best novel to have won the Booker Prize for Fiction in the award’s 25-year history.

His novel Shame was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1983.

His fourth novel, The Satanic Verses (1988), lead to the Iranian leadership issuing a fatwa against him. Despite the fatwa the novel was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1988 and won the Whitbread Novel Award.

The Moor’s Last Sigh was Booker Prize shortlisted in 1995, and Shalimar The Clown was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2005. The Enchantress of Florence was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2008 and Rushdie was also nominated for the Man Booker International Prize in 2007. 

Rushdie became a KBE in 2007, and in 2010 his novel, Luka and the Fire of Life, was published.

Since 2000, Rushdie has lived in New York City, and in 2007 he began a five-year term as Distinguished Writer in Residence at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia, where he has also deposited his archives. In May 2008 he was elected a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.