You are here

Last Orders

Last Orders

Four men gather in a London pub. They have taken it upon themselves to carry out the last orders of Jack Dodds, master butcher, and deliver his ashes to the sea. As they drive towards the fulfilment of their mission, their errand becomes an extraordinary journey into their collective and individual pasts. Braiding these men’s voices, and that of Jack’s widow, into a choir of sorrow and resentment, passion and regret, Swift creates a testament to a changing England and to enduring mortality.


About the Author

Graham Swift

Graham Swift was born in London in 1949. His novels include Waterland, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1983 and won the Guardian Fiction Prize and the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize and Last Orders, which won the Booker Prize for Fiction and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 1996.

Graham Swift is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature. He lives in London.