You are here

Flaubert’s Parrot

Flaubert’s Parrot

Geoffrey Braithwaite is the learned and querulous narrator of this inquiry into the mysteries of Flaubert and his art, and into the facts of his own marriage to the adulteress he adored. He travels to France to find the stuffed parrot Flaubert kept on his desk for inspiration.


About the Author

Julian Barnes

Julian Barnes was born in Leicester in January 1946. He has written nine novels, including Flaubert’s Parrot, which was shortlisted for the 1984 Booker Prize, won the Geoffrey Faber Memorial Prize, and lead to Barnes being the first Englishman to be awarded the Prix Medicis); England, England, which was shortlisted for the 1998 Booker Prize); and Arthur and George, which was shortlisted for The Man Booker Prize in 2005. The Sense of an Ending won the Man Booker Prize in 2011.