You are here

English Passengers

English Passengers

Determined to prove the literal truth of the Bible against atheist geologists, the Reverend Geoffrey Wilson sets out from England, in the summer of 1857, with an expedition to find the Garden of Eden, which he is convinced lies on the island of Tasmania. Unknown to him, others in the party have very different agendas. To complicate things further, the ship that Wilson has hurriedly chartered is in fact an ill-starred smuggling vessel packed with contraband brandy and tobacco. Narrated by over twenty voices, English Passengers brings a past age to vivid and memorable life.


About the Author

Matthew Kneale

Matthew Kneale was born in London in 1960. His books include Whore Banquets (1987), later re-issued as Mr Foreigner (2002), winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; Inside Rose’s Kingdom (1989); Sweet Thames (1992), winner of a Mail on Sunday/John Llewellyn Rhys Prize; and English Passengers (2002) which won the 2000 Whitbread Book of the Year Award and was shortlisted for the Booker Prize for Fiction. He lives in Rome.