You are here

The Enchantress of Florence

The Enchantress of Florence

The Enchantress of Florence is the story of a woman attempting to command her own destiny in a man’s world. It brings together two cities that barely know each other - the hedonistic Mughal capital, in which the brilliant emperor wrestles daily with questions of belief, desire and the treachery of sons, and the equally sensual Florentine world of powerful courtesans, humanist philosophy and inhuman torture.

These two worlds, so far apart, turn out to be uncannily alike, and the enchantments of women hold sway over them both.

About the Author

Salman Rushdie

Sir Salman Rushdie was born in Bombay in June 1947.

His second novel, the acclaimed Midnight’s Children, was published in 1981. It won the Booker Prize for Fiction, the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction, an Arts Council Writers’ Award and the English-Speaking Union Award. In 1993 it was judged to be the ‘Booker of Bookers’, the best novel to have won the Booker Prize for Fiction in the award’s 25-year history.

His novel Shame was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1983.

His fourth novel, The Satanic Verses (1988), lead to the Iranian leadership issuing a fatwa against him. Despite the fatwa the novel was shortlisted for the Booker Prize in 1988 and won the Whitbread Novel Award.

The Moor’s Last Sigh was Booker Prize shortlisted in 1995, and Shalimar The Clown was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2005. The Enchantress of Florence was longlisted for the Man Booker Prize in 2008 and Rushdie was also nominated for the Man Booker International Prize in 2007. 

Rushdie became a KBE in 2007, and in 2010 his novel, Luka and the Fire of Life, was published.

Since 2000, Rushdie has lived in New York City, and in 2007 he began a five-year term as Distinguished Writer in Residence at Emory University in Atlanta, Georgia, where he has also deposited his archives. In May 2008 he was elected a Foreign Honorary Member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.