You are here

The Comfort of Strangers

The Comfort of Strangers

Colin and Mary, vacationing in a city very much like Venice, are not having a good time. Then they meet Robert, a seedy and somewhat sinister bar owner, and his wife—and find that the bizarre encounter energizes their deteriorating marriage. A twisted relationship develops among these four characters in a situation of mounting horror until the shocking dénouement.

About the Author

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan was born in Aldershot in 1948.

His books include The Cement Garden (1970); The Comfort of Strangers (1981); Black Dogs (1992); Enduring Love (1997), which was made into a film starring Daniel Craig and Rhys Ifans; Amsterdam (1998); Atonement (2001), also made into a film starring James McAvoy and Keira Knightley; and On Chesil Beach (2007). His latest book, Sweet Tooth, will be released in summer 2012. He has also written collections of short stories including First Love, Last Rites and several film scripts.