You are here

Circles of Deceit

Circles of Deceit

This is a story about lies and truths and about a painter, a copyist, who paints modern versions of Old Masters and is ‘bothered by bills and artistic conscience in about equal measure … susceptible to, bullied and badgered by women.’ Major figures on the foreground of his crowded life canvas are Clio, his child-bride and her young boy; Helen, his first wife who left him, badly, but never really separates; and his mother who observes it all with a splendidly caustic humour. In the background, always, is his own silent son.

About the Author

Nina Bawden

Nina Bawden was born in London in 1925. She was the author of over 40 novels; 23 for adults and 19 for children. Several of her novels for children have become contemporary classics, notably Carrie’s War and The Peppermint Pig.  Her adult work includes the Booker shortlisted Circles of Deceit and Family Money. She died at her home in London on 22 August 2012.