You are here

The Book of Evidence

The Book of Evidence

The Book of Evidence is the first-person prison testimony of Freddie Montgomery - convicted for the ghastly and seemingly motiveless kidnap and murder of a young woman. Trying to make sense of the crime that destroys life - and the career of the friend who unwittingly harbours him - Freddie’s monologue is also an attempt to come to terms with forty years of aimless drifting and dissolution, and to find some glimpse of order in an apparently random world.


The Book of Evidence

About the Author

John Banville

John Banville was born in Wexford in 1945.

His first book, Long Lankin, was published in 1970. His other books include Nightspawn, Birchwood, Doctor Copernicus (which won the James Tait Black Memorial Prize in 1976), Kepler (which won the Guardian Fiction Prize in 1981), The Newton Letter (filmed for Channel 4), Mefisto, The Book of Evidence (shortlisted for the 1989 Booker Prize and winner of the 1998 Guinness Peat Aviation Award), Ghosts, Athena, The Untouchable, Eclipse and Shroud. He has received a literary award from the Lannan Foundation.

He lives in Dublin. John Banville won The Man Booker Prize in 2005 with his novel The Sea and was nominated for the Man Booker International Prize in 2007