You are here

The Book and the Brotherhood

The Book and the Brotherhood

The Book and the Brotherhood begins at a midsummer ball at Oxford, where a group of men and women - friends since university days - have gathered. Under the stars they dance: the charismatic Gerard Hernshaw; Rose Curtland, who has loved Gerard in silence for years; Duncan Cambus and his restless wife Jean; Jenkin Riderhood, the saintly schoolmaster who is the group’s moral center; Tamar Hernshaw, Gerard’s tomented niece; and, not least of all, David Crimond, the monomaniacal Marxist genius. Years ago, the friends bonded together to finance a political and philosophical book to be written by Crimond as a memorial to Sinclair Curtland, Rose’s brother; on this summer’s evening, Crimond’s actions at the ball touch off a crisis, and by the night’s end the vindictive ghosts of the past have effectively invaded the present.


About the Author

Iris Murdoch

Iris Murdoch was born in 1919 in Dublin and studied at Somerville College, Oxford. In 1948 she became a fellow of St Anne’s College, Oxford. She was shortlisted for the Booker Prize on numerous occasions with The Nice and the Good (1969), Bruno’s Dream (1970), The Black Prince (1973), The Good Apprentice (1985) and The Book of the Brotherhood (1987). She won the prize in 1978 for The Sea, the Sea.

Iris Murdoch was awarded the CBE in 1976 and in 1987 she was made a Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire. In 2001 her first published novel, Under the Net, was selected as one of the 100 best English-language novels of the 20th century by the editorial board of the American Modern Library.

After a five-year battle with Alzheimer’s disease, Iris Murdoch died in 1999.

Image of Iris Murdoch