You are here

Black Dogs

Black Dogs

The narrator delves into the history of his in-laws, June and Bernard, who fell in love during World War II, joined the Communist party, and honeymooned in France. There, June left Bernard; he returned to London to continue his political activism and she remained, isolated in a farmhouse, contemplating her mystical encounter with God and evil during a period she calls her "black dogs" episode.

About the Author

Ian McEwan

Ian McEwan was born in Aldershot in 1948.

His books include The Cement Garden (1970); The Comfort of Strangers (1981); Black Dogs (1992); Enduring Love (1997), which was made into a film starring Daniel Craig and Rhys Ifans; Amsterdam (1998); Atonement (2001), also made into a film starring James McAvoy and Keira Knightley; and On Chesil Beach (2007). His latest book, Sweet Tooth, will be released in summer 2012. He has also written collections of short stories including First Love, Last Rites and several film scripts.