You are here

Alias Grace

Alias Grace

As the story begins, one-time maid-of-all-work Grace Marks is serving a life sentence in the Kingston Penitentiary for her involvement in the vicious murder of her employer, the wealthy Thomas Kinnear, and of Nancy Montgomery, his housekeeper and mistress. Some believe Grace is innocent: after all, she was barely sixteen in 1843, at the time of the tragedy. Others think her evil or insane. Grace herself, having spent an interlude in the Lunatic Asylum in Toronto, claims now to have no memory of the murders.


About the Author

Margaret Atwood

Margaret Atwood was born in November 1939 in Ottawa and is the author of more than thirty books of fiction, poetry and critical essays.

Her work is acclaimed internationally and has been translated into thirty-three languages. She is the recipient of many literary awards and honours from various countries. Margaret Atwood lives in Toronto, with writer Graeme Gibson.

Margaret Atwood won the Booker Prize for the first time in 2000 with The Blind Assassin but has been shortlisted for it three times in; 1986 with The Handmaid’s Tale, 1996 with Alias Grace and most recently in 2003 with her eleventh novel Oryx and Crake. Margaret was also nominated for the Man Booker International Prize in both 2005 and 2007.